Nani Palkhivala Award for Civil Liberties and Human Rights

The Trust has instituted the Nani Palkhivala Award for Protection and Preservation of Civil Liberties and Human Rights in India. The Award is given to individuals and organizations every year. The Award carries a Citation and a cheque for Rupees Two Lakhs and Fifty Thousand in each category. (From 2006 till and including 2011 the cheque was for Rupees One Lakh. It was increased to Rs.2.50 lakhs in 2012.)

The Award winners since 2006 are:

Year Individuals Organizations
2006 Ms Navaz Kotwal PUCL, Delhi.
2007 Ms Teesta Setalvad None
2008 Mr. Shailesh Gandhi None
2009 Ms Aruna Roy Public Concern for Governance Trust
2010 Mrs. Maja Daruwala None
2011 Mr. Chaman Lal None
2012 Late Mr. B.G. Deshmukh None
2013 Mr. Justice Santosh Hegde (Retd.) None
2014 Mr. Avdhash Kaushal Swami Vivekananda Youth Movement, Mysore
2015 No Award None
2016 Dr. Abhay Bang Maharogi Sewa Samiti, Anandwan/Warora


The panel of judges for the Awards in 2006 and 2007 comprised Mr. Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah (Retd.) (Chairman) and Mr. Justice S.P. Bharucha (Retd.), both former Chief Justices of India and Mrs. Anu Aga, former Chairperson, Thermax India Ltd., while for the Awards in 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011 the panel comprised Mr. Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah (Retd.) (Chairman) Mrs. Justice Sujata Manohar (Retd.) and Mr. Justice Sam Variava (Retd.), both former Judges of the Supreme Court of India.

The panel of judges for the Awards from 2012 to 2016 comprised Justice Mrs. Sujata Manohar (Chairperson), Mr. Justice Sam Variava and Mrs. Sudha N. Murthy.