This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Trust has instituted the Nani Palkhivala Award for Protection and Preservation of Civil Liberties and Human Rights in India. The Award is given to individuals and organizations from time to time. The Award carries a Citation and a cheque for Rupees Two Lakhs and Fifty Thousand in each category. (From 2006 till and including in 2011 the cheque was for Rupees One Lakh. It was increased to Rs.2.50 lakhs in 2012.)

The Award winners since 2006 are:

Sr. No. year Individuals Organizations
1 2006 Ms Navaz Kotwal PUCL, Delhi
2 2007 Ms Teesta Setalvad None
3 2008 Mr. Shailesh Gandhi None
4 2009 Ms Aruna Roy Public Concern for Governance Trust
5 2010 Mrs. Maja Daruwala None
6 2011 Mr. Chaman Lal None
7 2012 Late Mr. B.G. Deshmukh None
8 2013 Mr. Justice Santosh Hegde (Retd.) None
9 2014 Mr. Avdhash Kaushal Swami Vivekananda Youth Movement, Mysore
10 2015 No Award None
11 2016 Dr. Abhay Bang Maharogi Sewa Samiti, Anandwan/Warora

The panel of judges for the Awards in 2006 and 2007 comprised Mr. Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah (Retd.) (Chairman) and Mr. Justice S.P. Bharucha (Retd.), both former Chief Justices of India and Mrs. Anu Aga, former Chairperson, Thermax India Ltd., while for the Awards in 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011 the panel comprised Mr. Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah (Retd.) (Chairman) Mrs. Justice Sujata Manohar (Retd.) and Mr. Justice Sam Variava (Retd.), both former Judges of the Supreme Court of India.

The panel of judges for the Awards from 2012 to 2016 comprised Mrs. Justice Sujata Manohar (Chairperson), Mr. Justice Sam Variava and Mrs. Sudha N. Murthy.